Kettner’s Restaurant – Review

Leave a comment

kettners1

No surprise that as a theatre blogger, I love going to the theatre in the West End. It’s my favourite part of London. My knowledge of places to eat before or after a show has increased over the years but there are far too many bland chain restaurants everywhere for my liking.

So it was a delight the other week to descend upon Kettner’s with 9 other London theatre bloggers (thanks to Rebecca of OfficialTheatre.com for gathering us all together!) and put our critical eyes and taste buds to the task of reviewing this West End Restaurant.

Its location is perfect, slap bang in the heart of Theatreland overlooking the Palace Theatre. It is ideally situated within a short walk of all the West End Theatres. I’ve walked past it many a time and to my chagrin never ventured inside – shame on me!

It is a venue steeped in history, it is 150 years old next year and a book about its famous visitors, meetings and ghosts will provide a riveting read I’m sure. It oozes class and style.

We sampled the Pre-Theatre menu but they do a full A La Carte menu, afternoon tea, lunches and Sunday lunch. So bear it in mind for those. The two course Pre-Theatre menu I went for was a main of Pan Fried Sea Trout, Sundried Tomato Risotto with a Tapenade dressing. Which was delicious!

My delicious main course of Sea Trout

My delicious main course of Sea Trout

Pudding didn’t disappoint either, a Chocolate pot with Madeleines was a calorific way to end dinner. Alas no picture exists of this as I tucked in too fast!

The bar area is ideal for a catch up and drinks with friends in addition there are private booths and private rooms  should you want a more formal gathering place.

They also run a selection of events and entertainment, have a look at their website for more info.

With so much tradition and art under attack in Soho, this is a special place. I wish I’d discovered it years ago and it’ll now become my “go to” for pre-theatre dining and for catching up over drinks with other theatre folk in London.

 

Leave a Reply

