Gandini Juggling – Smashed – Royal Opera House Linbury Studio – Review

Leave a comment
9 clever jugglers - no idea how many apples were used, I lost count!

9 clever jugglers – no idea how many apples were used, I lost count!

What a great start to my theatrical year, in this sublime, witty, skillful and above all fun show Smashed.

The show sees the 9 jugglers perform highly choreographed routines to various pieces of music. Some are strikingly beautiful, others emotive, and some just riotous fun.  One of the routines, saw one of the group with a rolled up newspaper hellbent on disrupting the rest of the group who were juggling 5/6 apples each. His techniques and ruses became more and more elaborate  – he succeeded in his objective to stop everyone, juggling, but I was amazed how long they kept going – not sure I could juggle three apples, let alone 5 or 6 whilst being “thwacked” over the head repeatedly!

Smashed pic2

This was part of the London International Mime Festival, and was the only show of it I could get to this year unfortunately, but I’ll be back next year, as the performers they get, always expand my theatrical experience and expectations, one word for me sums up this show – joyous.

STARS : * * * *

 

Leave a Reply

