2012 – Theatrical Highs (and one low point)

2 Comments

The end of another year beckons and it falls to me to act as “old father time”, sans beard and to cast my gaze back over the last year and share my theatrical highs with you, and I’ll throw in a low too, just to be balanced.

inbasildon

So play of the year for me was the wonderful In Basildon by David Eldridge. It was funny, heartfelt and so refreshing to see a different political side being displayed on the Royal Court stage. I saw it in February and it set the standard for me for the year ahead and wasn’t beaten.

The Cleverly Created Carousel

The Cleverly Created Carousel

Best musical for me was Opera North’s great production of Carousel that came to London’s Barbican theatre this summer.

One of Gabriela Tylesova's Phenomenal Sets

One of Gabriela Tylesova’s Phenomenal Sets

The DVD release of the Melbourne version Love Never Dieswas another highlight, such a shame this version is on the other side of the world.

Jonathan Slinger - Prospero

Jonathan Slinger – Prospero

My most commented on posts have  been my reviews of The Tempest and Top Hat

Buy two copies one for you and one to give to a moanny actor

Buy two copies one for you and one to give to a moanny actor

Best book of the year goes to Andy Nyman’s Golden Rules of Acting .  Another peak of 2012 was interviewing Andy Nyman for Theatre Thoughts, if you’ve not read it, click here.

Constellations - the theatrical low point of 2012 for me.

Constellations – the theatrical low point of 2012 for me.

My only real low of the year was seeing Constellations and then being even more perplexed at the awards and rave reviews this drama school exercise being passed off as a play got. Hey ho.

fatal-distraction

Best entertainment goes to Chris Cox’s show Fatal Distraction.

An astounding performance from Alex Lawther as Blakemore

An astounding performance from Alex Lawther as Blakemore

Getting to see The Browning Version and with the added bonus of the stupendous new companion play South Downs was one of my favourite productions, Alex Lawther gets my “actor of the year” award.

 

Ten Out of Ten Poster

Finally the show that has stayed with me the most since seeing it and so gets my “Theatre Thoughts Award for Top Theatrical Moment 2012″ goes to Ten Out of Ten.

Thanks for all my readers, commentators and supporters over the last 12 months. Here’s to 2013!

  

2 thoughts on “2012 – Theatrical Highs (and one low point)

  1. Great to Love Never Dies (filmed in my home town of Melbourne) on your list Dominick!

    Anna O’Byrne who played Christine went to the school where I teach in Melbourne (where she played Mrs Lovett, Cinderella, Fantine…) Did you know that she is now playing Christine in Phantom over there on the West End?

  2. Happy New Year to you Simon!

    I wasn’t aware Anna O’Bryne was now playing Christine, I’ll try and catch her in Phantom if I can.

    If you have any plans to come over to London this year do let me know as it’d be good to meet up and exchange theatrical thoughts!

Leave a Reply

