Line learning, Paracetamol, Lucozade and the Long Road of Rehearsing.

Leave a comment

I’ve not written about the current play I’m rehearsing yet. Primarily as I’ve been busy rehearsing!

I’m playing the character Joe in Shelagh Stephenson’s play The Long Road. It’s an intense play looking at the issue of forgiveness and examines how a family reacts to the murder of their son. My character Joe, is the brother of Dan who has been murdered.

The poster encapsulates the blood, sweat and tears rehearsing can be.

I’m finding it a real challenge as the play has a couple of monologues for each character and these are particularly emotional and so getting the balance right is hard. As we don’t want to go over the top, but also we’re trying not to reign in the emotions too much either.

I’ve come down with a bit of a cold (“Man Up!!” I hear you cry!), and so am relying on paracetamol and Lucozade to get me through this afternoon’s rehearsal. I’m pleased that the rehearsal process has been great fun so far. The cast is only 5 of us, we’ve bonded well and even though it is a serious play we’ve been able to have some laughs as we’ve rehearsed it, which I think has been necessary otherwise I think we’d get depressed.

I have a feeling the director is going to push us hard this afternoon, and that’s no bad thing, in fact it’s the part of the rehearsal process I enjoy the most, as the sense of achievement you have once you’ve stretched yourself is one of the things I like the most about acting.

I must dash and work on my lines now though.

TTFN

(it’s on from 18th – 27th October, tickets can be bought here )

Leave a Reply

