Backstage at the Barbican

1 Comment

The Barbican, in The City of London, serves as a reminder of how it wasn’t just the Soviets that built concrete monstrosities during the Cold War. Each time I revisit it though I grow a bit fonder of it. However what happens inside is more important and it is a major location artistically in the Capital.

An added bonus is all the Jame Bond memorabilia that is inside at the moment, due to the Designing 007, Fifty Years of Bond Style exhibition that is taking place there at the moment. I’ll certainly try to head back to catch that (it’s on until 5th Sept) and partake of a Vodka Martini, shaken not stirred in the Martini Bar there too.

Knew I’d left my car somewhere, glad Mi6 have their top man looking after it for me.

Last night however I got to go behind the scenes of the Barbican theatre, seeing the props and set and then I sat back and saw the cast rehearse Opera North’s production of Carousel ahead of it opening next week on the 15th August. The cast involves children and so this adds the complication of having two sets of children (as there are limits as to how long children can work), so everything has to be rehearsed at least twice with each set of the children. I love seeing all the elements and people who make a show come together, so it was terrific to see the vast number involved in this piece beavering away.

Opera North’s production of Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Carousel
Gillene Herbert as Julie Jordan (right)
Conductor James Holmes, Director Jo Davies, Set and Costume Designer Anthony Ward, Lighting Designer Bruno Poet, Choreographer Kay Shepherd, Choreographer (ballet) Kim Brandstrup, Video Designer Andrzej Goulding.
Photo credit: Alastair Muir

This production of Carousel has received rave reviews and I was given a great taste of the opening of Act 2 last night. I know a few of the songs of Carousel but I’ve never actually seen it either at the theatre or its film incarnation. So I’m genuinely excited about finally getting to see this classic and on deciding whether I feel it deserves that moniker.

I also got to meet Joe Shovelton who plays Enoch and Tim Burke who is the chorus master. They clearly have a passion for this production and were pleased to be brining it to the capital. It will be interesting to see how it is received by the Barbican audiences.

My review will be published after seeing the full show next week.

One thought on “Backstage at the Barbican

  1. Pingback: Carousel – Opera North at the London Barbican Theatre | Theatre Thoughts Blog

Leave a Reply

