Sur Le Pont D’Avignon

1 Comment

Sur Le Pont D'Avignon

Yes, even a conscientious theatrical reviewer, practitioner and student such as I deserves a break. Previous breaks in Dublin and Amsterdam this year have included theatrical visits, this one doesn’t have any planned. I know what many are thinking – “Dominic, you love theatre, you’re going to Avignon one month after their international theatre festival”, yes, one day I’ll return to visit the festival, but for now, the sun, wine and vibe will suffice.

However my college course kicked off again at the beginning of August, so my bag is packed with plays, modules and other books, as I look forward to studying in a few cafes while there.

I’m looking forward to reading Aleks Sierz new book on the last 10 years of British theatre. I enjoyed his book In Yer Face Theatre, that examined British theatre of the 1990’s. I hope this builds on that essential book, as the last 10 years have been equally as exciting for British drama.

Other plays I’ll read will be:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So I’ll have plenty to muse and mull on while sipping my wine and eating some fromage.

As well as reading, I’m planning on using sometime to finish the first draft of my own play.

So au revoir and I’ll blog on my return.

One thought on “Sur Le Pont D’Avignon

  1. HERE IN SOUTH-WEST FRANCE THE WEATHER HAS BEEN INTOLERABLY HOT. WE’RE HOPING IT’S REDUCING A BIT NOW. BUT WE DID GET TO SEE ANTIC DISPOSITION DOING THE TEMPEST IN QUERCY PREPARATORY TO PERFORMING SAME IN THE GREAT HALL OF THE MIDDLE TEMPLE, WHICH IF YOU CAN GET TO IT IS WORTH THE VISIT. THEY CLAIM THAT IT IS THE 400th ANNIVERARY OF THE FIRST PERFORMANCE.
    MARVELLOUS PERFORMANCE FROM THE YOUNG MAN PLAYING ARIEL
    JOLYON

Leave a Reply

