Post-Production Depression

4 Comments

Well done to all of this lot!

I’m not sure if there is officially such a syndrome as “Post-Production Depression”, but I know that for many people involved in theatrical productions there is certainly a sense of sadness when they’re over.

Over the last 3 months and especially the last 6 weeks, the cast and crew of The Matchgirls have been like a second family. Some I knew beforehand and others I met at this production. They’ve been a great bunch to work with. We’ve had our ups and downs but I’m glad to have worked with them all for this production, and in a strange way will miss not seeing them tomorrow, as I’ve seen them everyday for the last 2 weeks.

Looking back, how did the run go? Well, it certainly had a rocky start, and was a challenge each night to pull off, towards the end of the run I felt we were in the swing of things. This was the first musical I’ve done and it was a lot harder than I ever thought it was going to be. As a cast we perhaps “bit off more than we could chew”, with this production. John Harries-Rees the Director guided us and helped us pull it out of the bag.

The last 6 nights were all sold-out and that certainly helped us up our game and it was a great buzz to be playing to a full crowd.

The Miller Centre Theatre hasn’t done a musical for a few years previous to this and I imagine there will be a gap before we do another. Lessons have been learnt and we’ll build on that. For now, I’m glad I was given the opportunity to step outside my comfort zone, try something new, makes some great friends and see what it was like to be a “ginger” for two weeks of my life.

Well done to the cast, crew and a big thank you to our family and friends and audiences for giving us your support.

Now I look forward to a well deserved rest!

4 thoughts on “Post-Production Depression

  1. Post-production 2hr 15 minute train journey that should have taken 55 minutes is a cause of depression, I can tell you that much.

    As for the show, well, I liked that little Irish fella.

  2. Ahh, suffering for your art too Jonathan!

    Thanks for your kind words on the “little Irish fella”

    Thanks also for being an honorary member of the pack down crew today – MUCH appreciated!

  3. Pingback: And Now, The End is Near, It’s Time to Face the Final Curtain….. « Theatre Thoughts Blog

  4. Pingback: End of the Road | Theatre Thoughts Blog

Leave a Reply

