Enron – Wow

1 Comment

Yes I know I’m about 12 months late, but I’ve finally got round to reading Enron by Lucy Prebble. Anyone who’s currently in the UK knows that we’re snowed in across the country and so an afternoon off work seemed like a good chance to catch up with some reading I’d been wanting to do for a while.

The University of Dundee's satellite receiving station captured this image of how the heavy snow of the past week has affected the UK. The picture, which was received at 1145 GMT on Thursday from Nasa satellite Terra, shows almost the entire country covered by a blanket of snow.

Enron had been a play I’d wanted to see when it was on, but it’s sell out run at the Royal Court prevented me from going, and then I never got round to seeing it when it transferred to the West End unfortunately.

So as I snuggled down into my sofa with a nice hot drink, all that was missing was a roaring log fire, my central heating was on, so that had to do.

In short, I thought it was brilliant, and deeply regret not getting to se it when it was on in London. One of my favourite plays is Caryl Churchill’s Easy Money, and this certainly has a similarity, Lucy Prebble gives the story of greedy investment bankers a wonderful contemporary twist and feel.

I commend her for tackling this still thorny issue and managing to explain the intricacies of the financial shenanigans without the play ever coming across as an economics lecture (in my time at university I say through far too many of those, and still don’t get them, other than faintly remembering lots of graphs). I also thought her use of the audio/visual aspects of theatre are excellent and look forward to seeing them realised at some point in the future.

A Scene From Enron

 

This is a well written, well paced and structured play, which is refreshing for a modern play. Lucy Prebble clearly has researched her topic but brings across the fact that it was people that instigated this crisis and unfortunately people that suffered the consequences.

The UK tour has just finished, but hopefully it will tour in 2011, if so I’ll be making a beeline for a ticket. In the meantime grab a copy, find a sofa, cup of tea and enjoy it.

ps. I read this in the collection ; The Methuen Drama Book of Royal Court Plays 2000-2010, which is a collection of 5 plays from that decade, it’s an excellent selection.

One thought on “Enron – Wow

  1. I read this before seeing it at Chichester this summer. I found it hard to envisage, on reading, what impact it would have. Greatly improved on actually seeing it. But a lingering disappointment that the theatrical fireworks obscured the story.

Leave a Reply

