Best way to start the year – London MimeFest 2011

1 Comment

Josef Nadj & Akosh S will be appearing at the 2011 Mimefest

I know, I know, we’ve not even finished 2010 and I’m talking about the new year!

For the last few years I’ve made my first theatrical trip of the year to the London International Mime Festival. It’s a great way to start the year as I always see something brilliant and from a physical and visual theatre perspective as opposed to the more text-based work I spend most of my year immersed in.

Tickets have been released for the 2011 festival and I recommend booking asap as these SELL OUT FAST.

Personally I just take a plunge a see at least one or more that take my fancy. It’s always interesting and different and sometimes quite strange! That’s all part of the fun of theatre though.

I found out about this festival which has been running since 1977, a few years back through an article in the Stage, and I’m so grateful I did, it’s a real gem of an event and a highlight for me each January.

Details on the 2011 festival are here. I recommend you take a look and take a chance and go and see something.

Previously I’ve seen Pep Bou do amazing and beautiful things with bubbles I never thought were possible, accompanied by a beautiful classical pianist. I saw two clowns (argh I hear you cry, but no these were really GOOD!) who enchanted us all – they were called Okidok. I’ve also seen jugglers and physical comedians performing really creative pieces, all while transcending the language barrier.

I wrote a blog post recently on the importance of images in theatrical pieces and this festival has left many implanted on my mind and no doubt will continue to do so.

I’m not 100% certain which event(s) I’ll get to yet, but there’s a great and varied selection. Les Corbeaux appeals the most. The two pictures are from that production.

Once I’ve confirmed what I’m seeing I’ll let you all know.

Here’s to 2011!

One thought on “Best way to start the year – London MimeFest 2011

  1. Pingback: London International Mime Festival 2013 – I’ve got my tickets, have you got yours? | Theatre Thoughts Blog

Leave a Reply

