Get Involved

1 Comment

The Miller Centre Theatre Caterham

Over the last few weeks, I’ve been helping out at my local theatre, http://millercentretheatre.org, I joined their group the Miller Players and have been helping with getting the theatre ready for their next production A Few Good Men, which opens on the 3rd June. It’s been brilliant to be involved with a local theatre group, something I’ve never done before, and I’m now wondering “why on earth not?”. I appreciated moving heavy chairs, and scenery around, or scrambling under chairs with a spanner and ratchet, may not be everyone’s idea of a “good night out”, but to me it’s a great. Changing the Miller Centre Theatre from a proscenium theatre to an in the round has been hard work but great to see it done and I know it’ll make the action of this play really work.

When you join you have an application form where you tick various interests and skills, one of which was acting which I ticked along with numerous others. I then get a phone call the other day asking if I can assist by being a military policeman in A Few Good Men, not a major (no pun intended) part. I’ve not been on stage for a couple of years and I’ve never had to use an American accent, before, so I’m looking forward to the challenges this will bring but I’m really excited, as this is a great play and I never in a million years thought I’d be asked to act so early on.

Theatre is a collaborative art and it’s been great to meet other like-minded folks locally and have the opportunity to work together. They’re a really friendly bunch. The Miller Centre has superb facilities and puts on 9 productions a year. The running of the theatre supports a day centre that uses part of the building during the day, the day centre helps the theatre by running the box office and a few other things, so it really is a community project and a great way of utilising the space and facilities. Each production also has a nominated charity that benefits from a £1 donation per ticket (if the buyer wants), A Few Good Men will be supporting Hearing Dogs for the Deaf.

From my studies point of view it’s been great to get more practical with my theatre practice and implement the knowledge I’ve acquired over these last few years.

I’m not performing for the whole run as I have a couple of prior commitments, once the dates have been confirmed I’ll add them as a comment to this post, it’d be great to see some of you there.

One thought on “Get Involved

Leave a Reply

