Standing on the Shoulders……

Leave a comment

I’ve been looking at several other directors as part of my course this week, namely;

Antonin Artaud and Jerzy Grotowski.

While a summary of their views and contributions will follow on another date, I’m just struck as I go through this course, how far theatre has come in the last 100 years, and how much I take for granted that 50 – 100 years ago was seen as “cutting edge” or downright subversive/revolutionary (and to some still is seen like that)

I’m amazed at how much I’ve just assumed that’s how it’s always been when in fact, it’s not been that way for very long at all.

So today I just say a big “Thank you” to all those who’ve gone before and helped make Theatre what it is today.

Leave a Reply

